Categories
Uncategorized

Chapter 15

The sun begins to set and a gloomy darkness gradually envelops the city. A vast amount of lights begins to illuminate the main street.

The city of art is only just beginning to buzz with activity.

The adventurers return from the labyrinth thanking their lucky start for today, and pray that they will be able to drink good wine again tomorrow.

Today the Warrior’s guild is a bit different from the usual.


“Damn it, the head ranger and his henchmen just barged in on us like wild dogs. What the hell is wrong with you?”


Rob lets out a deliberate sigh. A large, bear-like man sits at the counter with three young men who look out of place.

They are surprisingly pleasant guys, but at first glance, they are nothing more than bandits.

The big, bear-like man’s name is Bogan. He is Klau’s husband, who is the master of the Ranger’s Guild, and he diligently does the housework on a daily basis.

Bogan wants to hide it, but it’s no secret that he’s on the bottom. Rumor has it that he has been stomped on his face with bare feet.

If he’s happy, that’s all that matters, Rob gives him a warm look.

That bear man, Bogan, had come here to ask him something. Although he is a business enemy, his bad character is not out of place in the the Warrior’s guild, so they are not outwardly hostile to each other.


“It’s a simple matter. I want to ask you and this young man Excel a few questions.”

“Excel? He got beaten up by a bounty target and he’s a total mess. He’s currently being nursed by a bunch of women. He’s an utter idiot.”

“I want to know the details of the fight with the bounty target. It seems that five of our men were killed. I asked the guards, but they said they didn’t know anything. I asked the swordsmen’s guild who led the party, but they turned me away because I was too weak. The way they speak to people, it really pisses me off!”


Bogan slams the table and the cup falls over, spilling the liquor. One of his men rushes to fix the cup and wipes the mess with a cloth.


“Cool your head. If you don’t listen to what I have to say, your wife will strangle you.”

unless we make a joke out of it.”


Bogan laughed it off, and his subordinates nodded. In the end, everyone was responsible for themselves. They took on a powerful enemy on their own, and died in return. That’s all.

Not interested in what they were talking about, Excel mutters as he plays with his bandages.



‘”By the way, who is going to get the bounty of puppeteer Russ? The Inquisition took him out, didn’t they? Maybe it doesn’t belong to anyone or something?”

“Well, that’s probably so. I’ve never heard of the Inquisition receiving a bounty. All they want is a compliment from her Holiness the Pope.”

“It’s a shame. If they don’t want it, I want it myself. I put my life in danger and all I’ve got are injuries.”


Excel mutters something selfish and sighs.

He still doesn’t seem to understand how lucky he was.

Rob has decided to educate him. It’s a shame to leave a child fatherless. It’s better to make him understand, even if it hurts him a little.


“You should just be glad you’re alive! I’m going to preach to until you can’t stomach it anymore. Bogan, you’re going to help me too.”

“Oh, educating? I’m not going to be holding back, even if we’re from different guilds. It’s our duty to educate youngsters like it was our predecessors’ duty!”

“Oh, no. I’m a little tired. I need to rest. My body is…”

“Running to the girls isn’t going to help you! You perverted brat!”




Leaving the slums, Yuusha returns to the central area.

Yuusha calls out to Matari, who is still pale.


“Are you all right now? I’ll go on my own, if you want to head back first.”

“No, I’m fine now. I’m just a little surprised. –Uubu.”


She answers that she’s okay, but she’s holding her mouth down as she remembers the scene they just saw.

Yuusha think it’s commendable if she doesn’t vomit, but doesn’t compliment her because she’s teary-eyed.


”Yuu, is Yuusha okay?”

“Of course I’m okay. It’s just that you’re not as experienced as I am.”

”…But you’re younger than me. I mean, don’t stare at me so much.”


Yuusha wasn’t particularly staring, but Matari was faltering. Was it on her face?


“It doesn’t matter how long you’ve lived. A person’s value is in how many times they’ve entered the field. That’s all that matters.’”

“I’m learning a lot.”


Matari takes Yuusha’s words to heart.


“Come to think of it, why did I suddenly fall unconscious?”

“I put a hypnotic spell on you. You were asleep and snoring.”

“Eeeeh! I don’t know there was magic like that!”

“I figured it was a little risky, so I used it. Don’t worry, it doesn’t usually work.”

“Really? It would be very troublesome if you could cast a spell like that in the middle of a fight.”

“You can’t put a vigorous, moving person to sleep. It will only work when their mind is severely weakened and their resistance is low. You also have to be close by, since you have to look into their eyes. ….That’s it, Would you like me to give it a try?”


Yuusha twists her mouth into a smile and asks, and Matari quickly shakes her head.


“No, just your feelings are enough! I’m not sleepy at all right now. Please, do before I go to sleep at night!”

“No, I don’t care how sleepy you are. …I think I’d easily fall under a hypnotic spell right now.”

“Why is that?”

“It’s your fault.”


When Yuusha tries to pinch Matari’s cheek, she runs off in a hurry. Yuusha withdrew her hand and leisurely followed her. She didn’t have the energy to run.

Then Matari, who was ahead of her, came back again. Yuusha opened her hands to show her that she won’t pinch her anymore, and she moves back next to her, relieved.


“You know, you’re kind of like a dog.”

“Yuusha is like a cat. Please don’t pinch me!”


While they were conducting such exchanges a couple times, they arrived in front of the warrior’s guild before they knew it. By the way, Colon and Silka turned back a long time ago. When she bought them some sweets in return for their help so far, they were pleased and had a childlike smile. They said that they were going to take them home to eat with everyone.


“Well then, let’s go inside. We’ve got to get this trouble over with.”

“Yes!”


With Matari in tow, Yuusha walks into the guild. The moment they opened the door, the overflowing commotion could be heard.

Apparently, the whole guild is having a drinking session. It’s really noisy. The noise echoed in her head.

One of the drunks who noticed them starts wobbling towards them.


“Ghehehe, ladies, pour me a glass of wine, will you!”

“Get out of my way.”


A light fist to the stomach puts him unconscious, and Yuusha pushes the drunkard away as she moves on.

Matari looks at him anxiously, but he’s probably okay, since she had adjusted it so that he doesn’t get injured.

Rob raises his hand from the counter to greet her. There is a big bear-like man and a group of three dodgy-looking people sitting at the counter.


“It’s the return of hero-sama. Bogan, this is the girl who defeated Salvadore. She doesn’t say anything except that she’s a hero, so call her whatever you want.”


At Rob’s words, the bear man, called Bogan, looks at her as if he were inspecting her. So do his henchmen.


“What’s wrong?”

“…you’re the little girl who did in Salvadore. I’m the Bogan of the Ranger’s Guild. People call me the 『Steel Bogan』.”


As Bogan comes forward with his name, Rob hold back a laugh. Even his subordinates seemed to be holding something back as they looked at the ceiling.


“So, what the hell does this bear Bogan want?”

“B,bebebe, bear!? Who are you ridiculing――”


Bogan glares at Yuusha, trying to argue with her. Yuusha glares at him with a gaze filled with killing intent in response, and Bogan’s face pales. His body begins to tremble and he restlessly strokes the scars on his face.

Yuusha who had been glaring at him couldn’t help but be confused when she saw the big man’s intense shaking.


“Wait a moment. You don’t have to be so frightened. What the heck.”

“Ugh, this one, her eyes are no good. It’s the same eyes that Klau gives me when she is beating me up. D, dange――.”


The frightened bear sits back down at the counter, turns to face the front and starts sipping his drink.

His henchman start rubbing his back and encouraging him.


“Ch, chief. I thought you were going to recruit the one who took out Salvadore.”

“I, iddiot! I’ll be damned if any more of these bitches like Klau join!”

“B,bitch. If your wife hears about this, she’ll kill you.”

“Shut up! Look at those eyes like a rabid dog’s, look at them! It’s scarier than any demon! I’m starting to get the chills. The pain of being whipped is starting to come back. Oh, it’s cold, it’s cold.”

“Ch, chief. Isn’t that just a little too pathetic?”

“All right, if you’re gonna go that far, you should try and recruit her.”

“I, I understand.”


The subordinate turns and calls out to her in a pompous manner.


“Hey, little girl, I’m offering you a special opportunity to become a member of the Ranger Guild. But first you have to bow down to big bro Bogan.”

“What are you talking about? It’s too much trouble. Besides, I don’t want to be a bear’s lackey any more than I want to be the blue shirt’s lackey.”


Rob furrows his eyebrows when he’s called blue shirt, but it’s true, so he can’t blame her. He wears a blue shirt all day, every day.

The subordinate nods politely, 「I understand」 and reports to Bogan.


“Chief, we’ve been rejected. Let’s give up like men here.”

“Yeah. Let’s give it up. We’re in trouble if we get another woman like Klau. Mainly me.”

“It wouldn’t be easy having two of them. Your head will go from blue to black.”

“Hahaha, and it’s even worse when it turns from black to white. That’s a dead man’s complexion. I mean, who’s gonna die?”


Yuusha stops talking with the amusing people and turns to Rob. She’s wasting her time and energy.


“Hey, who are these tiring guys?”

“Bogan and his merry band of misfits. Their faces look scary but they’re pretty entertaining. And their skills are good, too.”

“Sure, the faces are amusing, but. …Well, anyway. Here, you can cash this in.”


Yuusha tosses the leather bag roughly. It contains an object that makes her sick just by holding it. She want to deal with it as soon as possible.


“It’ s lighter than usual today. The other day it was full of rabbit claws and bat wings.”

“We were trying to go deeper, but something else got in the way.”

“Haha, well, that happens sometimes. Anyway, I’m going to check out what’s in there. When I’m done, you guys can drink too. I’m giving it to you for free today.”

“Did something good happen?”

“No, I was just in the middle of preaching to an idiot. The rest is for the dead. The only thing the rest of us can do is make noise.”

“I’ll have just one drink then. I’m a little tired today. Right, Matari.”


Refraining from Rob’s offer, Yuusha turns her head to Matari.


“Y, yes. I’m sorry, Rob.”

“Well, I’m not saying you have to. I’m sure you’re exhausted. Then, I’ll hurry and get your drink ready.”

“Thank you!”


Rob poured the drink into a cup and placed it in front of Yuusha and Matari. They receive it and started drinking. The icy coldness felt good in their dry throats.


“Then let’s get quickly get the job done. ――Hey. There’s nothing in there but two rabbit claws and a small sack.”

“It can’t be helped. It was only rats today. The other demons didn’t show up.”

“Well, there are days like that. Two rabbit’s claws and the contents of this sack―― ”


Rob takes out the claws and opens a the small cloth sack. The moment he checks the contents, his face changes color. He glares at Yuusha and raises his voice.


“……..Hey, what’s the meaning of this?”

“What?”

“Don’t play dumb. Who did you kill this time?”


Rob turns the bag upside down to reveal its contents. A blackened left hand falls down. On the back of the hand is the engraving of a sorcerer.


“A mad puppeteer. He attacked me, so I killed him. That’s what happened.”


She replies to Rob with a smile.


“Are you saying you beat that Russ Nubes? That fiend that the thirty-man group couldn’t handle!”

“You should evaluate it. Like last time.”

“ ……Haa, right. That would be the fastest way to go about it.”


Rob rings the bell and the appraiser who was working on the extraction in the back appears.

Rob asks him to appraise his left hand and the appraiser gives a small nod in acknowledgment. He concentrates his mind and uses the appraisal technique. The owner of the left hand is instantly identified.


“There is no doubt that it is the left hand of Las Nubes, the bounty target. I hereby declare that the bounty target is defeated .”


The guild buzzes with activity at those words. Bogan and the others are also stunned.


“You’re sure it’s Ras Nubes, the bounty target? I don’t believe it. That isn’t a guy that a newbie like you can take down. With Salvado the Trapper, this is unheard of! How on earth did you do that1?”


Rob slams the counter and yells out.


“How did I do it? After I smashed the puppets, I skewered the person in question and killed him. He was begging for his life at the end, but the demon had to be killed, so I thrashed him without leaving a single piece of meat behind.”

“Just you and the Matari? Don’t lie to me!”

“I’m not lying. We saved the dumb bounty hunters from him. First of all, what’s the problem with killing a bounty target? What’s wrong with that?”


The smile disappears from Yuusha’s face and she shows obvious killing intent.


“―― O, oi. Relax.”

“You don’t like a feared madman being killed by a little girl like me? Hey, is that right?”

“Yuu-Yuusha!”


Matari tries to stop her, but Yuusha’s words don’t stop.

“…..So that’s how it is, you too, you’re just like them. They treated me like a monster. This time I won’t let you do what you want. I’m not a big enough person to allow it a second time. I’m going to kill you all. I’m gonna hunt you down, and kill every last one of you.”


Rob seems to be overwhelmed by the pressure and unable to react.

Just as Yuusha was about to make a move, Matari rushes to intervene. Her body was held from behind and something was shoved into her mouth.


“Yuu-Yuusha, please calm down! You can’t get that upset! Here, eat this and get back to your usual heroics!

“――Mgh”


Matari forces the freshly baked pie into Yuusha’s mouth. Yuusha’s face is smeared with sauce and her mouth is a mess. Or rather, she’s not able to breathe. And it’s hot. She’s in agony from the pain.


“I-is it good?”

“Mugmugggh, Guga!”

“Hey, you have to chew your food.”


With Yuusha’s fading consciousness, she managed to pinch Matari’s cheeks and escape from pie hell.

After taking a deep breath, she grabbed Matari’s cheeks with both hands and gathered her strength in earnest like a vice.


“Are you trying to kill me, you boar! I can’t breathe! And it’s too hot!”

“S,shorre.”

“I can’t wait for you to experience the same pie hell I did!”


Yuusha grabs another pie and prepares to shove it into Matari’s mouth. It’s pretty hot just to hold it. How dare she shove this into someone’s mouth? Yuusha’s unsatisfied anger grows. Her face is red with the sauce and looks like a bloodstained mess.


“He-helf he.”

“……….”

“H, hey. I’m sorry, too, so can you let her go. Hey, you apologize too, Bogan!

“Why do I have to do this? No, in this business, it’s important to help each other out. Gohon, Yu, Yuusha? Please, for the sake of my face.”

“…Rob.”

“O, ou!”

“Give me the criminal’s bounty. Not even a single copper should be missing.”

“Oh. It’s about 20 gold pieces. I’ll just go to the vault and be right back. Till then, don’t do anything rash!”

“……I’m kind of exhausted.”


Yuusha releases Matari but the spot that she had pulled is still stretched. In an attempt to get her in a good mood, Bogan offers her a drink.


“Yuusha, please take one!”

“Thank you very much. You’re a pretty big guy, you’re really sharp.”

“Ha ha, I’m used to it.”

“I’m going to give you this pie as a thank you.”

“Thank you.”


Yuusha hands over the pie she has grabbed and gulps down the drink she received. After taking a breather, she wipes the stains off her face with a cloth and cheers Matari up.


“Come on, I’m not mad at you anymore, so cheer up.”

“I’m sorry. I think my cheeks are kind of torn to shreds.”

“It’s just a little red. In fact, my face is probably redder than yours. Because of the hot pie”

“That’s true. Your cheeks look funny, like an apple–”

“It’s your fault!”


At Yuusha’s shouting, Rob hurries back.


“Sorry to have kept you waiting! Twenty gold pieces and 2 rabbit’s worth!”

“…….Thank you. Matari, we’re going back!”

“Yes!”


As Yuusha snorts and turns to go back, Rob calls out to her from behind.


“Well I’m sorry. I just got carried away with the whole thing. I’ve never seen a rookie hunt 2 bounty targets in a row. I’m really sorry.”

“I’m used to it. I couldn’t stop myself getting worked up this time. I’m sorry. Also, you can call me a monster or a freak or whatever you want.”


Maybe it’s because she had a fight with an criminal. Her mind is drained. Normally she would have just laughed it off, but she got mad.


“No, I’m tankful to you for rescuing my guild mates. Excel was saved because of you. I’m going to record the incident this time as a contribution to the guild.”

“………”

“And you can take the profession examinations when it’s convenient for you guys. Just let me know when you’re ready.”


Yuusha nodded her head. She recalls that in order to get her profession certified, she had to have her abilities recognized. So, that means she got his approval.”


“Is it okay for me to take the test so early?”

“That’s true, I’d normally give after about three months to see how it goes. But you are skilled enough for this kind of thing. It’s a special case. The guild’s reputation will be improved if I let you go deeper.”

“Matari, is that all right with you? Next time we’ll be taking the certification exam.”

“I don’t mind! I’m not sure I’ll be able to get certified, though.”

“The way I see it, you’ve got the basics down so you’ll be fine. You just need the mindset to win. It’s not just a test of your skills, but your spirit as well. Well, look forward to it.”

“I understand!”


Matari replies cheerfully to Rob’s words.


“Well then, we’re going back for the day. I’m sorry for making a scene. Matari, let’s go back to the inn.”


Putting away the bag full of gold coins, Yuusha apologizes. She looks at Bogan, and he looks away in a hurry. His subordinates are chuckling with a wry smile, so Yuusha just raises her hand for them.


“Come here when you’re in good shape. You don’t need to panic, the test won’t run away.”

“Yes! So, Rob, everyone, excuse me!”


Pushing past the drunks who begin to make noise again, Yuusha heads for the exit.

A young bandaged man stands in the way, blocking their path.

Tired, Yuusha glares at him, but he doesn’t try to move at all. She made a scene earlier, so she refrained from kicking him away.

She pushed down her frustration and spoke to him.


“……Hey, can you get out of the way? It’s very annoying.”


The young man chuckles at her words. He familiarly takes Yuusha’s hand and shakes it.


“My name is Excel. I am a member of the warrior’s guild. I’ve been listening about it for a while now, you took out Russ the bounty target, didn’t you?”

“…yes, so what?”

“Actually, I was there too at that time. Thank you so much for saving me from being almost killed. I’m sure the other people who were saved are deeply grateful as well.”


Without letting go of her hand, Excel thanked her.

Yuusha smiled lightly. She wasn’t used to being thanked so directly, that’s why she was uncomfortable with it.

That was why he couldn’t remember Excel yet. Matari was looking at Excel with a scowl on her face.


“I’ve saved your life, so cherish it. There may not be another chance.”

“Yes, I’ll keep that in mind. Thank you so much.”

“Okay. Well, I’d appreciate it if you would step aside. I just want to go back to the inn and sleep. I’m running out of steam.”


Yuusha tells him so, but Excel doesn’t let go of her hand.

Grabbing Yuusha’s hand with both of his hands, Excel smiles refreshingly.


“――Uhhhm. If you don’t mind, could you tell me your name?”

“…why?”

“It’s only natural to have the name of the person who saved your life etched in your heart. Even more so when it’s such a lovely young lady. If I missed this opportunity, I wouldn’t be able to forgive myself even when I died.”

“……I forgot my name due to amnesia, so I’ll just be Yuusha until I remember it. Or rather, can you just let go of my hand already?”

“Amnesia, oh my goodness. Yuusha, if you’d like, let me help you heal that sorrow. If I may, I would like to join your group. I am somewhat confident with my sword, so I am sure I can be of help to you.”


He strokes Yuusha’s hand. Matari pulls her back as if to warn her about him. She knew it without being told.

Yuusha’s eyes narrow. she remembers him perfectly. This young man is the one who has a child with the three women in his party. So he said something about joining the bounty hunters.


“I don’t have the time. I’m not free enough to take an unknowing idiot with me.”

“No, no, don’t say that. I’m sure I can be of great help――”

“Shut up.”


She forcefully shook her head and pulled it away. What a waste of time.

Excel tries to follow up.


“A, wa, wait――”


After reaching the end of her patience, Yuusha wordlessly struck him with her fist. Although she adjusted her strength.

She should have done this from the start. After kicking the fallen idiot in the leg to stop him, Yuusha finally left the guild.




“You……..if you’re going to make a move on someone at least observer them first. You saw her exchange with me earlier. She’s not a simple person to deal with.”


Rob calls out to Excel, who is lying on the ground. With a dumbfounded look on his face, of course.


“No, no, I didn’t mean to hit on her. I have three wives! But I want to join her group. Yuusha, she’s strong, she’s good looking, and I like her a lot.”


Excel mumbles to himself while holding his cheeks. Rob admits that he has guts for doing it, but his nose is bleeding.

I’m tempted to rush in and say that it’s a little weird that he has three wives. I wouldn’t care if he was a nobleman, but he’s just an adventurer.


“Well if you’re going to die, it’s probably won’t be because of a demon, but lover’s quarrel.”


Rob muttered, and the drunks around him nodded their heads in hearty agreement.


“What do you mean?”

“You will see.”


Watching Rob and Excel’s shameful exchange, Bogan muttered.


“That young lad, if Klau had seen him, he would have been flogged a hundred times for sure.”

“I’m sure of it. He’s the type of character that your wife hates. I’m sure he’d be thoroughly reworked.”

“ Just between you and me. I used to be like that, too.”

“Chief, you’re kidding me. How could a man like chief be as cocky as that――”


“……….”

“Is it true?”

“……You’ve chosen the wrong person to mess with.”





“By the way, I didn’t know there was a hot spring in this town. It’s really refreshing.”



On the way back to Paradise Pavilion. At Matari’s suggestion, they took a detour to a large bathhouse.

The water was really wonderful. As she warmed up in the water, Yuusha had a big smile on her face.

There weren’t many people, so she was very comfortable in the water.

The smell of blood and decay has been completely removed and she is in a good mood.


“Yes, I heard that this city was famous for its hot springs before the demons came out. Now, though, it’s only known as the labyrinth city.”

“I see. Anyway, let’s get back. Ah, this is going to help me sleep comfortably.”


After the bath they had a drink and now they felt tipsy. All that was left to do was to get changed and go to bed. Yuusha was filled with a tiny bit of happiness.


“I’m glad you’re so pleased! Yuusha, you seemed somewhat tired and listless.”

“I’m doing great now. Thank you, Matari.”


Yuusha honestly gave her thanks. Matari gin return gives her a strange look, as if she had seen something unfamiliar.


“N, no. It’s my pleasure.”

“What’s that. I don’t understand what you mean.”

“No! It’s really nothing.”

“Hmm. Well, that’s okay. Then, let’s go home!”

“Yes!”


When we arrived at the Paradise Pavilion, the other guests were staring at us. Perhaps they’ve heard about the defeat of Russ Nubes.

The master calls out to her, but she’s tired, so she decides to hear it tomorrow.

As she start to climb the stairs, Remoncy speaks to her from downstairs.


“Oh, Yuusha. I have something important to tell you.”

“I’ll talk to you tomorrow. I want to go to bed today. I don’t want anyone to bother me.”

“Is that so? Okay then. Well, please get along.”

“What is that?”


At Yuusha’s question, Remoncy smiles meaningfully and goes back to the reception desk.

She don’t understand, but decides that it doesn’t matter and moves to her room.

She unlocks the door and energetically opens it.


“Yees, welcome back. You’re so late again. I had some free time so I prepared my own bed. You should really get a bigger room next time.”


The humble beds, of which there were two, had been pushed to the edge, and a pink bed, in bad taste, asserted itself violently in the center.

Even the curtains have been changed to pink. Even the tablecloth is pink. Pink pink pink. So-called Pinky. Even the clothes of the person lying down and reading a book are also pink.

Her eyes hurt, and Yuusha unconsciously closes and presses her eyes.


“? What’s the matter, Yuusha? Let’s go in quickly.”


The devastation inside was invisible to Matari because Yuusha’s body was in the way.


“I can’t sleep unless I have my own bed and pillow. It’s just that I’m sensitive, I can’t help it. Aaa, still, it’s a small and uninspiring room.”

“Excuse me.”

“Wait, wait――.”


Gently closing the door, Yuusha pretended that she hadn’t seen the scene from just before. Even if it was an escape from reality, no one would be able to blame her.

Yuusha sinks down unexpectedly with her back to the door.

There is a commotion from inside, as if someone is complaining.

Matari was worriedly holding her body.

Suddenly, the world went dark, and Yuusha’s consciousness was cut off there.

――apparently because of the pink color, the mental energy she had just recovered from the hot springs had been exhausted.


Young Mr. Bogan was a self-proclaimed handsome man.

4 replies on “Chapter 15”

The power of excessive pinkness that can even finish off our Yuusha. I can only imagine how harrowing of a sight that would have been for her.

Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for continuing the translation of this story. It’s a refreshing read after so many other light novels. A hero that struggles, was betrayed, but never gave up. Still a good person even when the world batters them.
Poor Hero. Her party has only grown. Seems like she might have one this time that will stick with her though.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment